Hiatus and SLAM!

Hello readers! (if I still have any following my hiatus…)

After participating in National Novel Writing Month last month (November), I realized how much I missed writing my own stories. I had a lot of fun drafting a novelette and a few short stories. Many of which will never see publication. I hope to edit a couple of the others.

I am also aware it has been three months since I last posted on my blog. Given the holidays are around the corner, I will not promise regularity, but I do hope to make at least one post a week from here on out. I think two a week was too much for my schedule and I got overwhelmed.

wp_20161207_00_07_59_pro

On to the ramble: My friend at the local comic book shop, Excalibur, recommended I start reading a new independent series titled SLAM! I was skeptical, but since I know a couple people doing Roller Derby I thought I might give it a try. The cover is fun. Bright pink and green. I enjoy her black eye and bloody face. The story progresses fairly well for a first issue, in that it gives each of the main characters’ backstories in a succinct manner and quickly establishes their newfound friendship. After laboring over my own story last month, I remembered how difficult it was to introduce characters clearly and effectively in a limited time frame. A couple of the pages I enjoyed the most were the “P.D. (Pre-Derby)” and “A.D. (After-Derby)” character sketch pages of lead protagonists, Jennifer Chu and Maisie Huff.

The author of SLAM! is Pamela Ribon, who is probably better known as a story writer for the recent Disney film, Moana. If you have not yet seen this new Disney princess film, I highly suggest it. The illustrator is Veronica Fish, who has done a lot of work with the Archie series. Fish does an excellent job with her character designs and the expressions are spot-on.

Happy reading everyone!

5 comments on “Hiatus and SLAM!

  1. Welcome back! I’ve missed your posts but I’m so happy to hear you enjoyed (and were revitalized a bit!) by your NaNoWriMo experience. It’s an incredible moment when you rediscover an old passion. I’m happy it was a fruitful time!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I’ve missed reading your posts as well. I just had a lot going on, but really, I can’t say I have a good excuse for dropping off the face of the earth.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I think our writing should always be, first and foremost, something we enjoy. Sometimes life just gets busy you know? To try and force posts when we have no time waters down content and makes it feel like a chore instead of a creative process that brings joy. So I say don’t be too hard on yourself. And just enjoy being back in the blogging groove!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. kevinpolman says:

    Good to see you back, Amy. Just in time for Christmas! Glad to hear you had fun writing in November. You should post some excerpts at your blog site. I’d love to read them!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I might post a short story or two sometime that I don’t intend to formally publish or whatnot. I plan to start hard-core editing my stories in January! For December, my goal is to read a couple novels that I have been neglecting on my shelf (Kelly Blanchard’s and yours:) I am listening to the audiobook of Go Set A Watchman right now.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

