My love for Outer Space – Reviews

WP_20160512_21_40_30_Pro

In case you didn’t know, I am in love with outer space, which means I will naturally gravitate toward stories set in outer space.* For example, last week I wrote about Joyride, which is about a girl who wants to explore the universe. This week, I am going to discuss two comics: the first issue of Satellite Falling by Steve Horton with art by Stephen Thompson and a sample of the graphic novel Mooncop by Tom Gauld from Free Comic Book Day (Saturday, May 7, 2016). Both comics, so far, are only a small snapshot of their overall stories.

I had high hopes for Satellite Falling. I wouldn’t say it disappointed me, but I did not quite get the enjoyment I wanted out of it. The story follows Lilly, a human who has left Earth to get away from dealing with the death of her significant other. She operates as a bounty hunter and works closely with the police department to bring in criminal aliens. Lilly has an intensity about her that makes her a powerful female protagonist. I appreciate that. Nevertheless, with comics like Copperhead out there (it also has a strong female lead), this story needed a “wow” factor for me to continue buying it each week. Truth be told, I prefer Copperhead with Sheriff Clara Bronson, she talks more. What can I say? I am a sucker for characters that talk and are witty in their banter. Lilly has good reasons for acting the way she does in Satellite Falling, but that doesn’t mean I have to enjoy her personality. I will give credit to the artist, Steven Thompson, who created fascinating backgrounds and crisp characters. I appreciate the detail he put into each panel. The aliens are also well designed and quite colorful. Overall, it is not a bad story and has wonderful alien art. I would check it out if you are interested in a space story with a strong female protagonist and enjoy watching said female kick butt. I, however, will stick to Copperhead for now.

On the other hand, Mooncop was on the opposite end of the spectrum in terms of art. It was simple and minimalist. It reminded me of reading a comic strip in the newspaper. The story does not start out any more complex than the art. A cop is summoned to help a lady find her lost dog on the moon, where he runs into a famous astronaut. The pace is slow, which may have been more obvious due to reading this directly after Satellite Falling. The slowness only enhances the mood on the moon, a community that is no longer thriving and the residents are beginning to return to Earth. I only read sixteen pages of the ninety-six total, so I cannot give a full review of the graphic novel. Though, I will say that this sample made me eager to purchase Mooncop when it is released in September 2016!

*Note: Despite my love for outer space, I do not read Star Wars. If there is something Star Wars you think I should read, please give me the specific title and it better have a distinct ending. I am so deep in other comic universes that I cannot spend the time learning about the comic universe of Star Wars. I do watch the movies. I enjoy them.

Leave a Reply

